Minister Harris Provides €23.47 Million Funding to 5 Technological Universities in Ireland

Five Irish Technological Universities will receive money totaling €23.47 million from Higher Education Minister Simon Harris, according to a report from the Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation, and Science. The following universities will get funding:

ATU: 5.27 million euros

MTU: 3.45 million euros

SETU: 5.25 million euros

TU Dublin: 5 million euros

TUS: 4.5 million euros

According to a press release from the Department, the money will be used to strengthen research capacity as well as governance and systems integration. A portion will also be allocated for digital infrastructure.

In accordance with the HEA Act 2022, the number of governing bodies and authorities in universities, technological universities, and institutes of technology will decrease from up to 40 to a maximum of 19. The HEA Act will concentrate on enhancing the Higher Education Authority’s role, enhancing the sector’s governance and responsibility rules, amending the Student Support Act to provide for the administration of scholarships for underprivileged students, and amending the Industrial Training Act of 1967 to permit statutory apprenticeships in a number of industries, including farming, horticulture, and fishing.

Top stories