Limerick Teachers Honoured for Half a Century of Excellence in Education

Citation: Image used for information purpose only. Picture Credit:

Two teachers who have contributed almost a half-century of loyal service to the INTO and education in Limerick were honored by their colleagues at a special function held at the Woodlands House Hotel, Adare.

Ann McMahon and Catherine Walsh made a difference in the lives of many young people in their classes. Ms McMahon, a Castlemahon native, was the branch secretary of Limerick City INTO for over 20 years, which is one of the country’s largest and most active, with over 1,000 members.
Ms McMahon, a Mary Immaculate College graduate, taught at Castleconnell NS before moving on to St Augustine’s Special School, which was located on Augustinian Lane in the city.

Later, she worked for the visiting teacher program for Travellers, which was terminated as part of austerity measures during the financial crisis.
Ms McMahon then became principal of St Joseph’s BNS in Rathkeale, a position she held until her retirement in 2020.

Joe Lyons, a former Ballybrown NS principal and long-time Limerick INTO representative, stated that Ms McMahon has volunteered on various educational projects where “her knowledge and wisdom are greatly valued”. He recalled her role as secretary when Limerick hosted INTO Congress in 2002, the only time it had been held here.

“With approximately 800 delegates , plus guests, it was a huge undertaking,” said Mr Lyons.

Ms Walsh was also honored, having spent her whole teaching career at the Salesian Primary School in Fernbank, on Limerick’s north side.

“In trade union circles, she was tasked with recruiting young teachers to the union and maintaining accurate records of membership. Her warm and welcoming personality ensured she was a great success in this role,” said Mr Lyons.

Stephanie Collins, the branch chairperson, gave a presentation to both instructors, and other speakers paid respect to them.
Among the guests were Tom O’Sullivan, former assistant general secretary of INTO; Ann Horan, Glin, incoming vice-president of the union; Margaret Bernard, Adare, and Séamus Long, Monaleen; and Tracie Tobin, incoming national executive member.

Top stories