IPL 2024

Season Dates: The 17th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) began on March 22, 2024, and is scheduled to conclude on May 26, 2024.

Matches and Format: A total of 74 matches will be played across various venues in India, following the same format as previous seasons with a league stage and playoffs.

Defending Champions: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are the defending champions, having won their fifth title in the 2023 season.

Participating Teams: There are 10 teams competing in IPL 2024

New Rule: A new bowling rule limits bowlers to a maximum of two fast short-pitched deliveries (bouncers) per over. This aims to create a more balanced contest between bat and ball.

Schedule: The entire schedule hasn't been released yet. As of today, March 21, 2024, the schedule for the first half of the season has been revealed.

Broadcast: The IPL matches are being telecasted on Star Sports Network in India and streamed live on the Disney+ Hotstar app.

Opening Match: The opening match featured Chennai Super Kings (CSK) against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

Award Money: The total prize money for IPL 2024 is expected to be around ₹46.5 Crore (approximately $56 Million USD)

Highly Anticipated: IPL is one of the most popular cricket tournaments globally, and IPL 2024 is expected to be another exciting season with the addition of two new teams and potential rule changes impacting the game.